Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
controversial issue in electrical engineering

controversial issue in electrical engineering

sexism in engineering

Turbomachine is a pain in my rear end. I'm a senior mechanical engineering student at Tennessee Tech. Turbomachine is a course taught by a great professor who has his good and bad days, but today is one of those bad days. Who thinks it is funny to have five large projects due in one week. And when I say projects, don't think a posterboard with some pictures of your new apartment talking about selling real estate. Think 50 page papers over micro-hydro turbines discussing velocity diagrams and the advantages of the Pelton turbine over the Turgo and Francis turbines. Along with a fifteen minute presentation over the topic. In addition to Senior design which has to be 1)built 2)presented 3)written about. In addition to an essay on Hamlet (because I procrastinated and took Western Lit my last possible chance instead of freshman year). So..this should be a lovely week.
Why do professors do that? Why do all professors have stuff due at the last possible day? Why not have it due halfway through or allow it to be your final or something like that. Why in the world did I decide to major in Mechanical Engineering?
So..the controversial question is where are women in engineering? Let me just say that I have had numerous classes where I was the only female. And the most women I have ever had in any one engineering class with me was 2. And that was a big class. Is it because we don't promote engineering in high school as an option for women? Are women told they shouldn't be engineers because they will be working with machines and getting dirty? Or is it the same reason my brother was invited to work on the car with my dad and not me?